Russell's Morayshire Register 1852

The following pages contain the names of those in Morayshire
entitled to vote for the Member of Parliament, and a directory of
tradesmen in some of the Morayshire towns and villages.
The information is extracted from Russell's Morayshire Register
which was written and printed in 1852 by Alex. Russell, Courant Office.
As far as I can see, there are no copyright restrictions, but I'm sure
someone will correct me if I am wrong.

The list of County Electors does not include those from the Nairn side of the combined county.
These electors vote for the County Representative in the House of Commons. At the time
of this Register,that was Major Charles Lennox Cumming Bruce of Dunphail.

The town of Elgin, along with the burghs of Banff,Peterhead,Cullen,Inverury and Kintore
returned a joint burgh member, who was, in 1852,George Skene Duff of Milton Duff.

Forres shared its burgh member, Alexander Matheson,Esquire,of Ardross,with Inverness,
Fortrose and Nairn. These Burgh members are the reason for extra Elgin and Forres lists.

Click on the town/area which interests you, and the list will open in a new window.

  • Alves,Abernethy,Bellie,Birnie,Boharm
  • Cromdale,Dallas,Drainie,Dyke,Duthil
  • Duffus,Elgin,Edinkillie,Forres,Inveraven,Keith
  • Knockando,Kinloss,Newspynie,Rafford,Rothes
  • Speymouth,St Andrews-Lhanbryd,Urquhart
  • Elgin
  • Forres
  • Findhorn
  • Garmouth
  • Kingston
  • Burghead
  • Hopeman
  • Grantown
  • Rothes
  • Fochabers
  • Lossiemouth
  • Forres A-F
  • Forres G-Mc
  • Forres M-W
  • Bishopmill
  • Elgin A-C
  • Elgin D-F
  • Elgin G-I
  • Elgin J-M
  • Elgin Mac-P
  • Elgin R-S
  • Elgin T-Y

  • Comment Here E-mail me